Housecall Pro vs Jobber
Housecall Pro and Jobber come up a lot when a small service company goes shopping for field service software, and on paper they look a lot alike. Here’s how they compare on price, features and AI, and where each one fits.
Start with what they share, because it’s a lot. Both quote, schedule, invoice and collect payment. Both show their prices. Both give you 14 days free with no card. Both will answer your phones with AI if you pay extra. Stack the feature lists next to each other and you’ll struggle to pick.
The decision isn’t in the feature list. It’s in how each one charges you as you grow, and which features sit behind which plan. That’s where I’d spend your time.
Two ways of charging you
Housecall Pro sells three plans, Basic, Essentials and Max, and bundles users into each: one in Basic, five in Essentials, eight in Max. Basic is $59 a month on annual billing or $79 month to month. Essentials is $149 or $189, Max is $299 or $329, and extra Max users are $35 each.
Jobber starts smaller. Core is one user at a list price of $49 a month with no commitment. Above that you’re choosing a tier, Connect, Grow or Plus, and a team size, in bands that run up to 15 users. Every extra user is $29.
That makes Jobber the cheaper way in for a solo operator or a two-person crew. At five users the gap closes: Housecall Pro’s Essentials is $189 a month and Jobber’s Connect is $199. Once you’re there I’d stop comparing price tags, because the features behind them don’t match.
What’s behind each tier
Housecall Pro’s Basic plan already lists a price book and job costing, on top of online booking, dispatch, estimates, invoicing, payments, consumer financing and review management. Jobber’s entry plan covers booking, quotes, invoicing with online payments and reporting, and it lists job costing starting at Grow, the third tier. QuickBooks Online sync lands in the second tier on both sides: Essentials at Housecall Pro, Connect at Jobber.
Move up and the two split. Housecall Pro’s Essentials adds routes, checklists, GPS tracking and commissions, and Max adds recurring service plans, route optimization and open API access. Jobber’s Grow adds two-way texting and workflow automations, and Plus adds custom reports, Pipeline, Marketing Suite and an AI Receptionist.
So here’s what I’d do. Write down the three things you can’t run your shop without, then find the cheapest tier on each site that includes all three. That number is your real price.
The card fee nobody compares
Housecall Pro says card processing starts “as low as 2.59%.” Jobber lists 2.9% + 30¢ on cards, 2.7% + 30¢ for Tap to Pay, and 1% on bank payments. If most of your revenue arrives by card, a few tenths of a percent is real money. “As low as” also means I’d ask Housecall Pro what rate you’d actually get before you count on it.
The AI pitch
Both companies lead with the same thing: something that picks up the phone. Housecall Pro says AI team members come with every plan, and sells CSR AI, which answers calls and chats and books jobs, as a separate add-on with no price listed. It also names Analyst AI and Coach AI for insights. Jobber lists AI Voice, AI Chat and a report builder, and prices its Receptionist at $29 a month.
I wouldn’t pick either platform for its AI yet. Jobber is easier to judge because it spells out what each piece does and what it costs. Whichever way you lean, get a live demo of call answering on your own kinds of calls before you pay for it.
Who each is built around
Housecall Pro says it’s tailored for teams of 1 to 100 or more. Its trade list runs from HVAC and plumbing to pool, pest control and custom home building, with a commercial services option. Jobber talks about service pros in more than 50 industries and names cleaning, construction and contracting, lawn care and tree care alongside the usual trades. It doesn’t state a team size, but its published tiers stop at 15 users and larger teams are sent to sales.
Where I’d start
If you’re a solo operator or a small crew, start with Jobber. The entry price is lower, you add people one at a time at $29 each, and you buy the Receptionist or marketing tools only if you need them. If you’re past a handful of users and want GPS tracking, commissions and QuickBooks sync inside a mid-priced plan, start with Housecall Pro’s Essentials.
Either way, use the trials. Both are 14 days with no card, Jobber’s on Grow features and Housecall Pro’s on Max. Run the same week of real jobs through each and see which one your office actually likes using.
Side by side
| Housecall Pro | Jobber | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Business management platform for home service companies, with scheduling and dispatch, estimates, invoicing, payments and a mobile app. | Field service management software covering quoting, scheduling, invoicing, payments and client communication for service businesses. |
| Category | Field service & dispatch | Field service & dispatch |
| Built for | Home service trades, Remodelers | Home service trades, Roofers & exteriors, Specialty trades |
| Pricing | Published pricing | Published pricing |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Free plan | Not stated | Not stated |
| AI | Says its AI Team includes a customer service rep AI that answers calls and books jobs around the clock. | Says Jobber AI helps draft quotes, answers calls and texts through an optional Receptionist add-on, and builds reports and campaigns from plain-language requests. |
| Part of | Independent | Independent |
Common questions
Which is cheaper, Housecall Pro or Jobber?
On the list prices each company shows, Jobber’s single-user plan costs less: $49 a month against $79 for Housecall Pro on monthly billing. At five users the two are close, with Housecall Pro’s Essentials at $189 a month and Jobber’s Connect at $199. The plans include different features, so compare tier to tier. Both run promotions, and prices change.
Do both offer a free trial?
Yes. Both offer 14 days with no credit card. Jobber’s trial gives full access to Grow features, and Housecall Pro says in its FAQ that its trial gives full access to the Max plan.
Do they work with QuickBooks?
Both list QuickBooks Online sync. In Housecall Pro it starts on the Essentials plan, and in Jobber it starts on Connect.
How many users does each cover?
Housecall Pro includes 1, 5 and 8 users in its three plans, with extra Max users at $35 a month. Jobber’s tiers cover 1 to 15 users, with extra users at $29 a month and larger teams sent to sales.
Do both have AI features?
Yes. Housecall Pro says AI team members come with every plan and sells a CSR AI call-answering add-on with no listed price. Jobber lists AI Voice, AI Chat and a report builder, plus a Receptionist add-on at $29 a month.
Prices and plan details as shown on each company’s site on October 24, 2026. They change often.
Questions to ask both vendors
- How does scheduling and dispatch work for a crew my size, and what happens on screen when a tech calls in sick and I need to move their jobs?
- Can technicians see their route, the customer's history and past equipment on a phone, including with weak or no signal?
- Can I send quotes with several options and have customers approve, sign and pay a deposit online?
- What are the payment processing fees for cards and bank transfers, and can I use my own processor?
- Exactly which data syncs to my accounting software, in which direction, and how are edits handled?
- Is pricing per user, per technician or by plan tier, and which features I saw today are in the plan you are quoting?
From our field service & dispatch buyer’s guide.
Go deeper
- Housecall Pro: full profile, pricing and AI housecallpro.com ↗
- Jobber: full profile, pricing and AI getjobber.com ↗
More head-to-heads
Estimating & takeoff
Togal.AI vs Beam AI
Read the comparison →Project management platforms
Procore vs Autodesk Forma
Read the comparison →Leads, CRM & marketing
JobNimbus vs AccuLynx
Read the comparison →Field service & dispatch · Residential, remodeling & trades
Jobber vs ServiceTitan
Read the comparison →Every factual statement about Housecall Pro and Jobber on this page paraphrases the companies’ own websites, checked on October 24, 2026. Listings are editorial: neither company paid to appear or reviewed this page. Spotted something out of date? Email newsroom@constructionindustry.ai.